top of page

The Indian tigress wins third straight Mixed Martial Arts title at ONE Championship

Chetana HP

02nd November 2020


RituPhogat after her win over NouSrey at MMA One Championship

(Source- @sportshonours on Twitter)

Sports- RituPhogat, an Indian wrestler and now a Mixed Martial Arts Star, won her third straight MMA Championship title in Singapore after defeating Cambodia’s NouSreyPov with a technical knockout in the second round at One: Inside the Matrix event on 30th October. The event featured four exciting World Championship contests at the Singapore Indoor Stadium.


According to The Indian Express, the Commonwealth gold medallist RituPhogat, also known as “The Indian Tigress,” put up an emphatic victory over Cambodia’s NouSreyPov by winning by a technical knockout after the referee halted the fight two minutes and two seconds into round two. Phogat played a dominant role in the first round, landing multiple takedowns while doing damage on the ground in a dominant position. Phogat landed a pair of reliable right hands before taking Nou down to the ground again in the second round, where she used her skills as a wrestler to counter Nousrey’s fast strikes and finished in top position with strikes.


Commenting on her outstanding performance, RituPhogat said, “It feels great to have a hat-trick in my MMA career with this game. Moreover, the hardships and challenges that I faced during the pandemic have paid off. I feel euphoric taking India to a new height in the MMA space and that I can’t be more proud. I am grateful to my family, friends, and fans back home for their support and have been incredibly optimistic about my performance today. Lastly, I would also want to thank my coach, who has played an essential role in my MMA journey and whose strategies I have sworn to defeat Cambodian champion NouSreyPov. I am looking forward to the Grand Prix, where I aim to own the world championship title”.


Ritu wants to be in the mix and is ready for anyone. However, she added, “I am ready for the top five. I respect every opponent; everybody is important. And I am ready to face anyone”.

(Sources- News 18, The Week, Indian Express)

Edited by- Sravanthi Neralla

2 views0 comments
bottom of page